Leyton Maxwell's Cardiff Draconians Make JD Welsh Cup Progress

Cardiff Draconians, managed by former Cardiff City midfield player Leyton Maxwell, are off and running in the JD Welsh Cup.

Joey Hooper, Jake Gammond, Liam Williams, Tom McLean and Leighton James scored for South Wales Alliance League club Draconians in a 5-1 win against Welsh League Tredegar Town.

Former Wales under-21 international Maxwell started his career with Liverpool, scoring at Anfield’s Kop End during a 4-2 League Cup win against Hull City, and moved on to Cardiff in 2000.

St Asaph-born Maxwell, now aged 37, made 44 first team appearances for the Bluebirds and played in the team who won the FAW Premier Cup with a 1-0 win against Swansea City in the final.

He also played for Carmarthen Town, Newport County, Rhyl, Bangor City, Aberaman Athletic and Barry Town in Wales.

The reward for Draconians after their five-goal win against Tredegar is a home tie against Ton Pentre in the JD Welsh Cup first round.

Gwent County League AFC Machen won 4-0 against Welsh League Third Division Ely Rangers thanks to goals from Jake McCarthy, Dan Pavitt (2) and Ieuan Phillips.

Paul Fowler, who won the Welsh Cup with Carmarthen Town a decade ago, is now Bridgend Street captain and they eased past Llanrumney with a 7-0 win.

Fowler (2), substitute Jordan Franklin (2), Jeff White, Mike Murphy and Jason Martin completed the scoring.

Abergavenny Town and AFC Porth both play in Welsh League Division Two and it proved a one-sided cup tie.

Abergavenny were 7-0 winners with Dan Jenkins (3), Sean Feeley (3) and Jac Evans on target.

AFC Butetown of the South Wales Alliance League were beaten 5-3 at home to Welsh League STM Sports with Curtis Scotto (3), captain Dale Gardner and Joel Quini scoring for the St. Mellons-based winners.

Joel Woodington fired a hat-trick for Pontyclun in a 6-2 win against Caerau with James Williams (2) and Jarrad Hill also on target.

Ammanford beat Merthyr Saints 5-2 with Gavin Jones (2), Craig Frater (2) and Matthew Fisher scoring. Chris Davies and Ryan Martin replied.

Spar Mid Wales Division One leaders Llanidloes Town won 3-0 against Barmouth & Dyffryn 3-0. Drew Reynolds, who scored and was later sent off, Rhys D Evans and Steve Jones (penalty) were the scorers.

Abermule, from Mid Wales Division Two, won 3-2 against First Division Borth United 3-2. Barry Bellis (2) and Tommy Jones scored for Abermule with Lee Jones and Dan Hopton replying.

Liam Sklenar scored the only goal for Lex Glyndwr when they won 1-0 against Hawarden Rangers.

Corwen won after extra time against FC Nomads of Connah’s Quay, who led 1-0 thanks to a second half Kerion Moore goal until Scott Evans equalised during injury time.

That forced the game into extra time and Corwen won thanks to goals from Tommy Mutton and James Evans both scored in the additional period to seal Corwen’s place in Round 1.

Alistair Campbell (2) and Luke Kahil scored for Llay Welfare in a 3-1 win against Penycae in North Wales. All four goals came came inside the first half an hour.

FAW Trophy holders Chirk AAA won 1-0 against Llanuwchllyn thanks to a Louie Middlehurst goal, while Llanrug United defeated Llandyrnog 5-1. Luke Phillips (2), Alan Mark Owen (2) and David Noel Williams were the scorers.

The draw for the JD Welsh Cup first round has taken place with Barry Town United manager Gavin Chesterfield assisting FAW Head of Competitions Andrew Howard.

JD Welsh Cup draw:

North: Buckley Town v Llanidloes Town, Gaerwen v Llandudno Junction, Conwy Borough v Bodedern Athletic, Llandudno Albion v Rhyl FC, Mynydd Llandegai or Mochdre Sports v FC Penley, Carno v Gresford, Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant v FC Queens Park, Denbigh Town v Holyhead Hotspur, Flint Town United v Llanfair United, Abermule v Berriew, Saltney Town v Llanrwst United, Caernarfon Town v Lex Glyndwr, Meliden v Ruthin Town, Holywell Town v Corwen, Airbus UK Broughton v Bow Street, Porthmadog v Penyffordd, Brickfield Rangers v Chirk AAA, Llay Miners Welfare v Llanrug United, Guilsfield v Mold Alexandra, Prestatyn Sports v Caersws.

South: STM Sports v Afan Lido, Cardiff Draconians v Ton Pentre, Briton Ferry Llansawel v Goytre United, Abergavenny v Panteg, Monmouth Town v Ynysygerwn, Aberdare Town v Ammanford, Caerphilly Athletic v Carmarthen Stars, Llantwit Major v Taffs Well, Pontyclun v Pencoed Athletic Amateur, Penybont FC v Undy Athletic, Caldicot Town v Goytre FC, Garden Village v Penrhyncoch, Pontypridd Town v Cambrian & Clydach, Haverfordwest County v Croesyceiliog, Aberbargoed Buds v Port Talbot Town, Cwmamman United v Rhayader Town, Bridgend Street v Machen, Caerau Ely v Cwmbran Celtic, Aberaeron v Llanelli Town, Cardiff Corinthians v Penydarren BGC.

Ties are to be played on Saturday 7 or Sunday 8 October 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *