Boom! Kieran Kennedy scores Wrexham's winner.

Dragons Clinch Home Tie In National League Play-Offs

Manager Bryan Hughes and his Wrexham team are record-breakers – and that’s official.

The Dragons kept alive hopes of promotion to the Football League thanks to a magnificent strike by former Manchester City defender Kieran Kennedy, but it was goalkeeper Rob Lainton who took the plaudits.

Wrexham have kept 26 clean sheets this season to equal a club record set in the 1973-74 season.

Hughes was delighted with the shut0out and Kennedy’s finish after he fired into the top corner of Sutton United’s net to clinch a 1-0 win.

Wrexham are fourth in the table, have already qualified for the play-offs, and are still on course for a top three finish.

The winner came 12 minutes from the end and Hughes said: “It was a fantastic finish, great technique.

“Many times from set pieces this season we have scored from the first contact. This time it was the third contact, and Kieran finished it unbelievably well for a centre-half.

“The outside of the foot right into the top corner. A fantastic finish.”

“It’s great to get back to clean sheets as well and it is important at this stage of the season that we try to build and that is what we will look to do going forward.”

This was Wrexham’s third successive victory with Kennedy and captain Shaun Pearson outstanding.

Bryan Hughes named an unchanged starting XI – and substitutes – from the win at Barnet, with match winner Jermaine McGlashan still on the bench.

The 26th clean sheet of the season ensures the Dragons will be at home in the play-off quarter-finals at the least, and also equals the club record for all competitions first set in 1972/73.

Wrexham travel to play Halifax on Bank Holiday Monday before entertaining Harrogate Town at the Racecourse next Saturday.

Wrexham: Lainton, Roberts, Pearson, Kennedy, Carrington, Young, Wright, Rutherford (Summerfield 59), Grant (McGlashan 72), Beavon (Oswell 72), Holroyd. Subs not used: Dibble, Jennings.

Sutton United: Worner, Bennett, Bolarinwa, Toure, Ayunga (Kearney 78), Eastmond, Beautyman, Deacon, Barden (Bellikli 85), Williams, Dobson (Thomas 66). Subs not used: Lema, Mason.

Referee: Peter Gibbons (Merseyside)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *