Penydarren BGC Power To Shock JD Welsh Cup Win

Penydarren BGC, the lowest ranked team left in the JD Welsh Cup, maintained their sizzling form this season.

They earned an 18th successive victory to dump Huws Gray Alliance club Llandudno Junction out of the competition 4-0.

Penydarren play in the South Wales Alliance League, but they powered to an impressive victory in North Wales and earned a place in the fourth round.

Christopher Owens fired a first half hat-trick with Ben Jones scoring the fourth just after the break to send travelling supporters back to Merthyr Tydfil in good heart.

Holders Bala Town crashed out, losing 4-0 against fellow JD Welsh Premier League side Aberystwyth Town.

Declan Walker opened the scoring for the Seasiders when his free-kick was deflected into the net.

Three goals in 12 second half minutes, scored by John Owen, Joe Phillips and Luke Borrelli, completed the victory for Aberystwyth.

Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant, who play in the Welsh Alliance, pulled off one of the upsets of the round by defeating Cefn Druids 3-2. James Davies put Druids in front before Iwan Matthews equalised.

The game was locked at 1-1 with seven minutes to go when Davies scored again to regain the lead for the visitors. Matthews hit back minutes later, before Khyam Wyton scored the winner for Llan.

Prestatyn Town were the other top flight side knocked out, losing 3-0 at home to Ruthin Town.

Gwion Owen had given Ruthin the lead in the first half and they doubled their lead from a Llyr Morris penalty after Myles Hart was sent off for Prestatyn for a second yellow card.

Garmon Hafal scored the third on 70 minutes to send Ruthin into Monday’s draw.

Flint Town United, Airbus UK Broughton and Porthmadog will be representing the Huws Gray Alliance alongside Ruthin in round four. Alun Bull scored the only goal for Flint in their 1-0 win at Buckley Town, Flint beat Buckley away 1-0, while Airbus needed extra time to overcome Welsh League Goytre 3-2.

Joe Chaplin scored four goals haul for Porthmadog in a 7-2 win against Panteg at Y Traeth. Chaplin’s goals included a 15-minute hat-trick during the first half.

Pontypridd Town, from Welsh League Division Two, defeated Haverfordwest County 3-1. Andy Smith, Adam Johns and Nyram Bird scored for Ponty with Christian Speake replying.

County had Sam Rowden sent off in the second half.

Other JD Welsh Premier League sides booked their place in the next round.

Llandudno beat Gresford 4-0 with Marc Williams (2), Aaron Hassall and Toby Jones scoring.

Connah’s Quay Nomads were 3-0 victors against Cwmbran Celtic with second half goals from Michael Bakare, Matty Owen and John Oyenuga securing victory.

There was no joy for the Amman Valley with Ammanford and Cwmamman United losing 3-2 and 4-3 to Carmarthen Town and Bangor City respectively.

Ammanford hit back from 2-0 down at the break to level things early in the second half before Liam Thomas, already on the scoresheet for the visitors, struck again to give the Old Gold a much needed win.

Four different scorers led Bangor into round four. Dan Gossett, Anderson Cayola, James Demitriou and Brayden Shaw were on target.

JD Welsh Cup

Cardiff Met held off the challenge of Penybont to win 3-1. Eliot Evans, Rhys Thomas and Dan Spencer scorers for Met, while Joe Hopkins scored for the hosts.

Neil Mitchell and Jamie Reed saw Newtown win 2-0 at home to Guilsfield.

JD Welsh Cup third round: 


Friday: The New Saints 6, Penrhyncoch 0.

Saturday: Buckley Town 0, Flint Town United 1; Penybont FC 1, Cardiff Metropolitan 3; Llandudno 4, Gresford Athletic 0; Bangor City 4 Cwmamman United 3; Aberystwyth Town 4, Bala Town 0; Prestatyn Town 0, Ruthin Town 3; Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant 3. Cefn Druids 2;  Connah’s Quay Nomads 3, Cwmbran Celtic 0; Porthmadog 7, Panteg 2; Airbus UK Broughton 3, Goytre FC 2 (aet); Pontypridd Town 3, Haverfordwest County 1; Newtown 2, Guilsfield 0; Llandudno Junction 0, Penydarren BGC 4; Ammanford AFC 2, Carmarthen Town 3.


Sunday, December 3: Caernarfon Town v Barry Town United (2.45pm).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *