Warren Gatland. Pic: Simon King/Replay Images.

Wales Stick With Tried And Trusted As They Go For Grand Slam Glory

Wales have named an unchanged team for their Six Nations decider against Ireland on Saturday, as they look to win their 12th Grand Slam and first since 2012.

Warren Gatland sticks with the same matchday squad that defeated Scotland 18-11 in their last match at Murrayfield, with fullback Liam Williams recovering from a shoulder knock that forced him off during the second half in Edinburgh.

“These players are on a very good run,” Gatland said as the team was announced on Thursday. “They are a hugely impressive group and they deserve to be going into the final weekend with everything to play for.

“It is a great reward for them for the hard work they have put in and we are all looking forward of what is going to be a huge game.

“For a number of us as coaches this is our last Six Nations game and that fact it is in Cardiff is extra special. There is bound to be a bit of emotion on Saturday and that is something to embrace.”

Wales are also looking to extend their record winning run to 14 games but defeat will open the door for England to secure their first Six Nations title since 2017. If Ireland win, England can wrap up the title with victory at home to Scotland in the 5:00 p.m. GMT kick off. Wales play Ireland at 2:15 p.m. GMT.

Wales team to face Ireland: 15. Liam Williams, 14. George North, 13. Jonathan Davies, 12. Hadleigh Parkes, 11. Josh Adams, 10. Gareth Anscombe, 9. Gareth Davies; 1. Rob Evans, 2. Ken Owens, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Adam Beard, 5. Alun Wyn Jones (c), 6. Josh Navidi, 7. Justin Tipuric, 8. Ross Moriarty

Replacements: 16. Elliot Dee, 17. Nicky Smith, 18. Dillon Lewis, 19. Jake Ball, 20. Aaron Wainwright, 21. Aled Davies, 22. Dan Biggar, 23. Owen Watkin

One thought on “Wales Stick With Tried And Trusted As They Go For Grand Slam Glory

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *