Welsh Premier Clubs Await European Fate

Four Welsh Premier League sides will learn their European fate later today with the draws for the first two qualifying rounds of the UEFA Champions League and Europa League being made at UEFA’s headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland.

The New Saints will represent Wales as the highest seed of the 10 first qualifying round clubs.

The Welsh Premier champions will face one of FC Alashkert (Armenia), S.P. La Fiorita (San Marino), Europa FC (Gibraltar), FCI Tallinn (Estonia) or KF Trepca’89 (Kosovo).

The New Saints will be expected to advance from the first qualifying round and into a second round draw made up of some more recognisable names, including Celtic, Red Bull Salzburg, Malmo and APOEL, who eliminated the Saints last summer over two hard-fought legs.

Welsh Premier League runners-up Connah’s Quay, Play-Off winners Bangor City and Welsh Cup winners Bala Town are all unseeded in the first qualifying round draw for the Europa League. They face any one of 50 possible opponents including a potential money-spinning tie against Rangers.

Should any of the WPL clubs advance into the second qualifying round they could potentially be drawn against Galatasaray, Brondby or Aberdeen.

The draw is expected to commence from midday and can be viewed live online here.

We’ll bring you the confirmed ties once they’ve been announced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *