Cardiff Athletes Earn 33-Medal Haul At The Welsh Junior Championships

Cardiff AAC Juniors won 33 medals at the Welsh Junior Championships in Wrexham.

There were 13 golds, 12 silver and seven bronze medals for Cardiff.

Teenager Jay Morse, the younger brother of London Olympics and Glasgow Commonwealth Games competitor Brett, won two events.

Jay won golds in the under-17 discus and shot put events at the Welsh Athletics Junior Track and Field Championships.

It was an outstanding weekend for the next generation of Cardiff athletes.

Aaron Owen (coach, David Norton) of Cardiff AAC completed the double of 100m and 200m titles in the under-20 category with times of 11.32 and 22.28 respectively.

The championships took place at Queensway Stadium in Wrexham and were packed with Welsh talent.

They were spread over two days and the weather made it a typically blustery British weekend which affected potential personal bests, but not the determination to become champions.

The crowds in Wrexham provided a perfect atmosphere for the young athletes to compete in.

There were many strong performances from Cardiff AAC athletes in all age groups, under-13 to under-20.

It was a successful weekend and great preparation for the Upper Youth Development League final in Birmingham on Sunday, September 3.

Cardiff AAC medal winners:


Under-20M 400m hurdles: Iwan James

U20M 100m: Arron Owen

U17M 400m: Seth Kelly

U17M 1.5km steeplechase: Owain Edwards

U15G 800m: Nia Clatworthy

U15 1k walk: Bethany Gold

U17M 800m: Morgan Glyndwr James

U20M 200m: Arron Owen

U17W Pole Vault: Caitlin Leggett

U17M Discus (1.75kg): Jay Morse

U17W Hammer (3.00kg): Bethan Gammon

U17M Shot Put (6.00kg): Jay Morse

U17M Triple Jump: Thomas Atkinson

U15 M 800m: Ben Reynolds


U17M 1.5km steeplechase: James Gold

U15G 100m: Emmanuella Kone

U13 1k walk: Molly McKerlich

U20M 800m: Ieuan Jones

U17W 300m: Lily Gaskin

U20M Hammer (6.00kg): Kieran Grimwade

U17M Long Jump: Cameron Pamment

U15G Discus (1.00kg): Cassey Grimwade

U15B Long Jump: Ben VincentI

U17M Discus (1.75kg): Cameron Pamment

U20W Hammer (4.00kg): Ffion Palmer

U17W High Jump: Emily Kerry Steer


U20M 400m: Iwan James

U13G 1500m: Jemima Robinson

U17M 100m Hurdles: Cameron Pamment

U20 3k walk: Daniel McKerlich

U15B 200m: Louis Thorne

U17W Triple Jump: Catlin Leggett

U17M Pole Vault: Thomas Britt

Total 33: Gold 14, Silver 12, Bronze 7

Tom Hewson (coach, Mark Bradford) of Andover AC produced the performance of the Welsh Junior event by winning the under-17 men’s javelin title and setting a new Championship best performance of 65.18 metres.

Bethan Rees (Mark Pinner) continued her fine form by winning the under-20 women’s javelin title with a distance of 45.29m. The Cannock and Stafford athlete adds this title to the Welsh senior Javelin title she won in June.

Nia Riley (Paul Hill) of Cardiff Archers set a new personal best of 4:57.55 to win the under-17 women’s 1500m title. She returned to the track the next day to clinch the under-17 women’s 800m title with a time of 2:18.49.

Joe Brier (Neal Merry) of Swansea Harriers won the under-20 men’s 400m title with a time of 49.94. Brier adds this to the Welsh Senior Indoor 400m title he won at the start of the year in January.

Newport Harrier Zoe Nash (Kevin Williams) clinched two Welsh under-20 women’s titles, winning both the 100m and 200m with times of 12.59 and 25.56 respectively.

Caitlyn Mapps (Phillip Warwicker) of Cardiff Archers won the under-15 girls 100m title with a time of 12.89. This was also a new personal best.

Deeside AAC’s Amber Simpson (John Parkin) retained her under-20 women’s hammer throw title, throwing a new Championship best performance of 53.26 metres in the fifth round.

Arthur Powell of Maldwyn Harriers stormed to victory in the under-13 boys 100m final with a time of 12.54, agonisingly close to a new Championship best performance. Powell won the 200m the following day in a Welsh Age Group best time of 24.94.

Michael Jenkins of Pembrokeshire Harriers was the winner of the under 13 boys shot with a big third round throw of 9.27 metres, while Deeside’s George Savage of was the winner of the under-13 boys long jump final with a third round jump of 4.28 metres, also a new personal best.

Chloe Jones (John Davies) of Swansea Harriers was victorious in the girls under 13 Javelin final and set a personal best of 29.62 metres.

Roman Hodgson (Philip Oliver) of Deeside AAC was the winner of the under-13 boys 1500m final with a time of 4:49.72. Hodgson returned to the track next day to win the 800m final by a large margin with a new Championship best of 2:12.65.

He then stepped down to the 200m and came third in the under-13 boys final in a time of 28.00.

Mia Roberts (John Messum) of Deeside was a comfortable winner in the under-17 women’s 3000m race with a new personal best of 9:57.84.

Kelsie Webster of Maldwyn Harriers won the under-13 girls long jump final with a new personal best of 4:17 metres.

Gwennan Lewis (Ryan Spencer Jones) of Newport Harriers took the win in the under-17 women’s shot put final with a new personal best of 11.20 metres.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *