Cwmbran Celtic Victory Puts Them In Seventh Heaven

Cwmbran Celtic earned a seventh successive victory in all competitions, beating a Taffs Well team who finished with eight players.

The talented Wellmen let themselves down by having three players sent off in the last hour an hour, all for second bookable offences.

Referee James Burgess took firm action in this Welsh League First Division match and Taffs Well have now had five players dismissed in their last three visits to Celtic.

Arran Thomas was dismissed after being cautioned for a foul and then attracting a second yellow card after kicking the ball away.

Marcus Jones was dismissed after a second booking for a bad challenge, while player-manager Adie Harris saw red for dissent.

Harris was cautioned for complaining after 75 minutes and sent off during injury time, again for a similar offence.

Celtic were at full strength for this mid-table fixture and Taffs Well looked for playmaker Sam O’Sullivan to provide inspiration.

Goalkeeper Lewis Watkins saved well from O’Sullivan, while at the other end former Merthyr Town striker Josh Bull shot first time from Lloyd Kinsella’s low cross and his effort flew narrowly wide.

A long clearance from defence by Taffs Well was half blocked by Rhys Williams and the ball fell into the path of O’Sullivan and it took a superb last ditch recovery by the Celtic skipper to stop deny the opponents a goal.

Well forced a series of corners and from their fifth taken by Gareth Emanuel the ball was cleared to Warren Jones. He picked out Warren Jones, who set up Ricky Hodge for a shot which led to another corner.

Celtic scored the only goal of the game after 22 minutes when, from Simon Prangley’s free-kick, the ball deflected off the head of a Taffs Well defender to Rhys Williams and he headed high into the net at the far post.

The Wellmen responded with a header from O’Sullivan and a shot by Marcus Jones, both saved by Watkins.

Midfield player Lloyd Toghill on in midfield for Emanuel and Taffs pressed for an equaliser.

But it all went wrong for the Cardiff team as they lost composure and finished with eight players.

Celtic’s back five had their best game of the season against the quality of O’Sullivan and allowing prolific Sam Johnson (57 goals for Ely Rangers in last two seasons) only one half chance.

During the first half Celtic conceded seven corners and seven shots, all on target, but still kept a clean sheet. Lewis Watkins capped a faultless performance with his two outstanding saves.

Rakesh Patel and Richard Crees were outstanding on the flanks in defence and attack, while Rhys Williams, playing against his former club, was man of the match.

Afan Lido won 4-1 against Cambrian and Clydach with Elliot Thomas (2), Mark Jones and Kieran Cullen the scorers.

Haverfordwest County returned to the top of Division One, but were guilty of squandering chances in their 2-1 home win against Ton Pentre.

County, still missing centre-forward Joe Leahy, failed to kill off a spirited effort by the Rhondda Bulldogs and the home team were forced to waste time at the corner flag in the closing stages.

Greg Walters and Dan Williams scored for Haverfordwest, while Leon Jacka’s fierce shot from 30 yards provided Ton’s reply.

The next test for leaders Haverfordwest is against Caerau Ely at home on Saturday.

Welsh League results:

Division One: Afan Lido 4, Cambrian and Clydach 1; Caerau Ely v Cwmamman United, postponed; Cwmbran Celtic 1, Taffs Well 0; Goytre United 1, Penybont 2; Haverfordwest County 2, Ton Pentre 1; Undy Athletic 1, Llanelli Town 2; Goytre FC 4, Monmouth Town 1; Port Talbot Town 3, Briton Ferry Llansawel 5.

Division Two: AFC LLwydcoed v Risca United, postponed; AFC Porth 2, Pontardawe Town 3; Croesyrceiliog 0, Aberbargoed Buds 1; Llantwit Major 1, Caldicot Town 3; Pontypridd Town 1, Dinas Powys 0; STM Sports 4, West End 0; Aberdare Town 1, Abergavenny Town 3; Garden Village 2, Ammanford 1.

Division Three: Bridgend Street 2, Newport City 0; Neuadd Wen 2, Tredegar Town 2; Tredegar BGC 1, Pontyclun 1; Trethomas Bluebirds 3, Chepstow Town 1; Treowen Stars 1, Swansea University FC 3; Ely Rangers 2, Caerau 3; Ynysygerwn 3, Penrhiwceiber Rangers 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *