Northern Ireland celebrate their Victory Shield success.

Wales Miss Out On Victory, Northern Ireland Celebrate

Wales suffered in their 2018 Victory Shield under-16 campaign, while North Ireland won the title for only the second time.

The Welsh boys lost 3-1 against Northern Ireland, who also drew 1-1 against Scotland and won 3-1 against hosts Republic of Ireland.

Manager Gerald Boyle’s Northern Ireland finished top and lifted the trophy for the first time since 2000-01.

They battled to a hard fought 1-1 draw against the Scots despite having a player sent off for two bookable offences on the half hour.

Boyle sent on three substitutes after half-time and scored when one of the trio, Euan Williams, took possession after 50 minutes, cut inside a defender and unleashed an unstoppable shot which beat the ‘keeper low to his left.

Defender Matt Baker, pictured in training, scored for Wales against Scotland in the Victory Shield.

Two minutes later Ross McCausland almost gave Northern Ireland the lead when he shot across the keeper, but his effort just went wide of a post.

The win against Wales clinched their trophy triumph and Boyle said: “We’ve brought the Victory Shield home for only the second time in 73 years.”

Wales also drew 1-1 against the Scots, in their opening fixture, but lost against Northern Ireland and the Republic.

The victory Shield fixtures were played at three venues in Tralee, County Kerry.

England have not entered for the past few years with Wales, Northern Ireland, Scotland and the Republic of Ireland competing for the title.

Coach Declan Devine’s squad included four players who had been on international duty with the under-17s squad at a Uefa qualifying tournament in Turkey.

They were Linfield trio Charlie Allen, Ross McCausland and Dale Taylor plus Foyle Harps player Orrin McLaughlin. 

2018 Victory Shield Results

First round of matches:

Scotland 1, Wales 1

Republic of Ireland 1, Northern Ireland 3

Second round of matches:

Republic of Ireland 4, Wales 0

Northern Ireland 1, Scotland 1

Third round of matches: 

Scotland 0, Republic of Ireland 0

Wales 1, Northern Ireland 3

Welsh under-16 players pictured before a training session. Pic: FAW.

Full Wales under-16 squad:

Max Williams (Wrexham)

Luca Smith (Bristol City)

Keelan Williams (Liverpool)

Jay Williams (Newport County)

Matthew Baker (Gillingham)

Bryce Jones (Leeds United)

Ethan Vaughan (Cardiff City)

Harry Jones (Arsenal)

Oliver Ewing (Fulham)

James Sweet-Lannin (Arsenal)

Taylor Jones (Cardiff City)

Joshua Edwards (Swansea City)

Jadan Raymond (Crystal Palace)

Zac Williams (Crewe Alexandra)

George Walters (Manchester United)

Liam Higgins (Everton)

Siyabonga Ligedenza (Cardiff City)

Levent Gundogan (Blackburn Rovers)

Ryan Viggars (Sheffield United)

Aaron Hillier (Swansea City)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *