Merthyr Town's Welsh goalkeeper Alex Harris was sent off for dissent at Salisbury and is facing a suspension.

Welsh Goalkeeper Alex Answers The Martyrs’ Call

Former FC Hereford goalkeeper Alex Harris has joined EvoStik Southern Premier club Merthyr Town for the 2019-20 season.

Welshman Harris, who has earned two Southern League South and West titles, says: “It’s a great feeling joining Merthyr Town and being Welsh myself makes it even better. 

“I’ve always looked out for their results and they have been a game I’ve looked forward to playing in whenever we’ve played one another.

“After just coming off the back of a great season with Cinderford, I cannot wait to get stuck into the next one and it’s always more exciting entering a new league season with a new club. I’m really looking forward to the new challenge that lies ahead.”

Harris, aged 27, played for Cinderford Town last season and helped the Forest of Dean club finish fifth to qualify for the play-offs. They defeated Cirencester in the semi-finals before being edged out 3-1 in the final.

“Alex brings a great wealth of experience to the side after the spells he’s had at a top level with the likes of Hereford, Cinderford and Gloucester City,” says manager Gavin Williams. “I’m really looking forward to working with Alex and the rest of the squad ahead of the fast approaching season in the Evo-Stik Southern Premier.”

The Martyrs have had a variety of goalkeepers over the last few seasons and at one stage defender Jarrad Wright took the gloves because of an injury crisis.

Joe Perry, teenager Ed Hewitson, Glyn Garner, Cameron Clarke, Scott Reed and Oliver Davies are among other goalies to have played. Hewitson, a promising young ‘keeper who has come through the Merthyr Academy, is likely to be involved again in the coming season.

Harris is a second summer signing for manager Williams, who has also recruited former Cardiff City and Hereford striker Gethyn Hill.

All home games at the MetCoaches Stadium, Merthyr Tydfil.

The Martyrs start their pre-season fixtures against Swansea City under-23s at the MetCoaches Stadium on Saturday, July 6.

A week later the Martyrs will take on Abercwmboi in an Alzheimer’s Charity Match, also at home.

Merthyr take on Welsh League Division One team Cwmbran Celtic at the MetCoaches Stadium on Tuesday, July 16.

The Martyrs follow that game with a trip to the Welsh capital as they take on manager Christian Edwards’ Cardiff Met.

Manager Mike Flynn takes his Newport County team to Merthyr on Tuesday, July 23 before hosting newly-promoted Penydarren BGC visit the MetCoaches two days later.

Williams takes his squad on a bonding weekend away in Leicester when the Martyrs will take on Harborough Town FC in a friendly at the Harborough Community Ground on Saturday, July 27.

Merthyr have a home game against newly promoted JD Welsh Premier League side Penybont FC on Friday, August 2.

Pre-season fixtures for Merthyr Town FC


Saturday 6 v Swansea City Under-23s (Home, 3pm)

Saturday 13 v Abercwmboi (Home, 3pm). Alzheimer’s charity match

Tuesday 16 v Cwmbran Celtic (Home, 7.30pm)

Saturday 20 v Cardiff Met (Away, 2pm)

Tuesday 23 v Newport County (Home, 7.30pm)

Thursday 25 v Penydarren BGC (Home, 7.30pm)

Saturday, 27 v Harborough Town (Away, 3pm)

Wednesday 31 v Aberfan (Away, kick-off TBC)


Friday 2 v Penybont FC (Home, 7:30pm)

The Football Association have confirmed when Merthyr Town FC will kick-off their Emirates FA Cup and Buildbase FA Trophy campaigns.

Merthyr will enter the FA Cup at the first round qualifying stage Saturday, September 7.

They will start in the Buildbase FA Trophy in the first round qualifying on Saturday, October 26, in the First Round Qualifying.

After club trials, Merthyr Town are pleased to invite the following players to represent Merthyr Town Academy for the 2019-20 season for their respective age groups.

Merthyr Town Academy players

Under 9

Alfie Price

Cohen Evans

Mason Healey

Ollie Windmill

Shogun Scrivens

Korey Mason

Luke Edwards

Ioan Vale

Charlie Joll

Michaili Galea

Ralphy Mapp

Under 10

Toby Hall

Jesse Jones

Joel Hewitt

William George

Jayden Davies

Jake Thomson

Ruben Fisher

Finley Blenkinsop-Clarke

Alfie Davies

Under 11

Efan Bowd

Gwion Ellis

Carrick Withers

Rueban Lackman-Jones

Mitchell Glover-Mcbeth

Morgan Vaughan

Max Horsman

Jack Thomas

Cellan Castardi

Brian Probert

Daniel Richards

Under 12

Dylan Stephens

Osian Goldsworthy

Morgan Evans

Finley Morris

Kellan Morgan

Caleb Withers

Harry Greenland

Jack Lewis

Under 13

Mitchell Davies

Logan Walker

Toby Clay

Jayden Smith

Ethan Wilfort

Keilan Burke

Morgan Ellis

Finley Parry-Rees

Under 14

Harri Griffiths

Rowan Donovan

Samuel Williams

Liam Hall

Dilan Roberts

Curtis Morgan

Callum Goldsworthy

Under 15

Brad Cox

Tariq Rees

Lewis Thompson

Ryan Jones

Morgan Jones

Iestyn Davies

Under 16

Morgan Barlow

Morgan Rees

Kallum Thomas

Connor James

Thomas Louis Seaborne

Dylan Robinson

Iwan Surian-Holder

Cameron Williams

Sion Barnett

Jack Meredith

Under 19s/Development Team

Harvey Mohamed

Rhys Bevan

Taylor Marsh

Ewan Skuse

Aaron Tyner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *