Tesni Evans will again. play for Welsh Wizards in the Premier Squash League. Pic: Simon King/Replay Images.

Welsh Wizards Recruit World Class Premier Squash League Team For 2019-20 Season

Welsh Wizards are back for the new Premier Squash League season and they are thirsting for success.

Egyptian ace Marwan ElShorbagy, the former World number three, returns for his second season and he is among seven men on the team.

Welsh ace Tesni Evans, ranked nine in the World, is among five ladies who have committed to Wizards.

Peter Creed, Emyr Evans, Elliott Morris Devred and Evans are the Welsh players selected, but Welsh performance director David Evans was unable to reach agreement with World number 12 Joel Makin.

The Wales number one lives and trains in the English Midlands, while he played for University of Birmingham Lions last season.

Wizards had hoped Makin, originally from West Wales, would return to Wales for PSL action, but he will stay with Birmingham.

The PSL format has changed for the 2019-20 campaign.

Marwan ElShorbagy (Egypt) heads up Welsh Wizards team. Pic: Getty Images.

The new-look league will now feature three men and two women in every match, a change from 4+1.

North and South divisions remain, but the maximum number of teams will be reduced to 10 (five in each) to help avoid conflict with PSA World Tour dates and reduce the financial burden on teams.

Teams will be allowed to field a maximum of one male and one female player from outside the UK.

For 2020-21, the league will move away from parallel divisions to create a Premier League and a Championship League.

The top two teams from the North and South Divisions will automatically qualify for the Premier league, the bottom two teams will play in the Championship league, while the third place teams will play-off with the winner joining the Premier League.

Reaction to the PSL changes has been positive with more than 15 teams expressing an interest in participating in the new format. Ten, including Wizards, have been accepted.

The 2019-20 season promises to be one of the most entertaining yet. Matches will begin in October and run through to May.

Welsh Wizards confirmed squad for 2019-20 Premier Squash League

Men: Marwan ElShorbaggy, Omar Mosaad, Edmon Lopez, Peter Creed, Emyr Evans, Elliott Morris Devred, James Peach

Women: Tesni Evans, Joshna Chinappa, Rachael Chadwick, Milou V Heidjen, Anna Kimberley

Professional Squash League 2019-20

Northern Division

Northumberland Club/Newcastle University

Team Coolhurst

Team Pontefract


University of Birmingham Lions

Southern Division

St Georges Hill

University of Nottingham

University of Warwick/Kenilworth Squash


Welsh Wizards

Professional Squash League fixtures


Tuesday 1 

Round one

Birmingham v Pontefract

Warwick v Welsh Wizards

Newcastle v Nottingham

Coolhurst v RAC

Round two

Tuesday 15

Nottingham v Birmingham

RAC v Warwick

Pontefract v Scotland

Welsh Wizards v St George’s

Round three

Tuesday 5

Newcastle v Birmingham

Coolhurst v Warwick

Scotland v Nottingham

St George’s v RAC

Round four

Birmingham v Scotland

Warwick v St George’s

Pontefract v Newcastle

Welsh Wizards v Coolhurst

Round five

Tuesday 10

Nottingham v Pontefract

RAC v Welsh Wizards

Scotland v Newcastle

St George’s v Coolhurst

Second Half fixtures

Round six

Tuesday 7

Pontefract v Birmingham

Welsh Wizards v Warwick

Nottingham v Newcastle

RAC v Coolhurst

Round seven

Dates to be arranged

Birmingham v Nottingham

Warwick v RAC

Scotland v Pontefract

St George’s v Welsh Wizards

Round eight

Dates to be arranged

Birmingham v Newcastle

Warwick v Cohorts

Nottingham v Scotland

RAC v St George’s

Round nine

Dates to be arranged

Scotland v Birmingham

St George’s v Warwick

Newcastle v Pontefract

Coolhurst v Welsh Wizards

Round 10

Dates to be arranged

Pontefract v Nottingham

Welsh Wizards v RAC

Newcastle v Scotland

Coolhurst v St George’s

Semi-finals and final to be arranged.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *