Ace Forward Joey The Big Winner At Devils Awards

More than 500 Cardiff Devils attended Cardiff City Hall for the Elite League club’s awards night.

Canadian forward Joey Martin was the big winner with three trophies, lifting the club’s leading scorer (27 goals + 46 assists = 73 points), forward of the year and most valuable player.

The 29-year-old has enjoyed a remarkable four seasons playing for Cardiff Devils and there is no question he is among their priority signings when it comes to 2018-19.

‘The Greatest Show’ video above  is another excellent piece of work by Paul Sullivan and Nutshell Events.

Martin has scored a total of 97 goals for Devils in 217 matches, adding 172 assists for a points total of 269 since 2014.

The man from Thorold, Ontario has won a variety of club awards and has been voted Elite League forward of the year twice and player of the year once.

Devils have lifted two League titles, three Erhardt Conference titles and won the Challenge Cup on two occasions – seven major championships in since 2014 with Martin in their ranks.

Bryce Reddick was named coaches player of the year by Andrew Lord, while Justin Faryna lifted the fans favourite prize and Andrew Hotham was defenceman of the year.

Joey Martin pictured during the Devils’ awards evening.

Sean Bentivoglio was given a firm thumbs up by his teammates when he was voted player’s player of the season.

They go into this weekend’s end-of-season play-off finals in Nottingham intent on winning that trophy for the first time since 1999.

Devils play Fife Flyers in their semi-final (1pm), followed by Sheffield Steelers against Nottingham Panthers.

Cardiff Devils awards:

Leading Scorer: JOEY MARTIN

Forward of the Year: JOEY MARTIN

Defenceman of the Year: ANDREW HOTHAM

Anthony Hard Memorial Award (for Junior Devil recognised for exceptional perseverance and dedication to the club): CARTER LLOYD (Junior Devils)

Fan Favourite: JUSTIN FARYNA


Red Army Travel Player of the Year: GLEASON FOURNIER

Coach’s Player of the Year: BRYCE REDDICK

Player’s Player of the Year: SEAN BENTIVOGLIO

Most Valuable Player: JOEY MARTIN

Special Recognition for Contribution to the Club: ADRIAN RAPPS (ICETIME TV)

Devil in The Community Award: CRAIG MOORE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.