Ben Llewellin among six Welsh shooters on World Class programme.

Ben Llewellin Helps Welsh Shooting’s Super Six Make History

Ben Llewellin and his fellow Welsh shooters are celebrating a slice of history after having six athletes named in British Shooting’s World Class Podium and National AcademyProgramme for 2020-2021.

The six have been included in five different disciplines: Olympic Skeet, Olympic Trap, Paralympic Rifle, Pistol, and Rifle.

It is the first time Wales have been included in all the Olympic and Paralympic shooting disciplines.

Llewellin, who won silver in the skeet at the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast, has been named in the Olympic Skeet discipline.

The 26-year-old from Haverfordwest is joined by Lewis Owen (Olympic Trap), Georgina Roberts (Olympic Trap), Craig Welsh (Paralympic Rifle), James Miller (Pistol) and Mike Ramsey (Rifle).

Dean Bale (rifle), who shoots for England but who trains at the WTSF’s national range facilities in Cardiff, has also been named on the World Class programme.

John Dallimore, the WTSF’s Performance Director, “After the successes of the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games, Welsh athletes are still performing at a high level and six selections to the World Class Programme is unprecedented.”

“For the first time we have athletes included in all the Olympic and Paralympic shooting disciplines.”

Dallimore also paid tribute to Welsh shooting coaches, adding: “Without doubt, thanks need to go to the unstinting work of the coaches.”

Richard Stepney and Mat Goodwin coach shotgun disciplines in Wales, Alan Green coaches pistol athletes and both Steve Downes and David Phelps coach rifle and Paralympic shooters.

The WTSF’s strategic plan launched earlier this year and set an objective to maintain 10 per cent Welsh representation on British Shooting programmes. The selection of the six Welsh shooters makes up 14 per cent on the World Class programme.

One thought on “Ben Llewellin Helps Welsh Shooting’s Super Six Make History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *