Dan Nash And Lizzie Diamond Take The Honours In Newport Marathon

ABP Newport Wales Marathon men's winner, Dan Nash.

Dan Nash And Lizzie Diamond Take The Honours In Newport Marathon

By Gareth James

Thousands of runners and spectators turned out for the return of the 2023 ABP Newport Wales Marathon & 10K, enjoying cool conditions ideal for fast times.

Nearly 6,000 runners were signed up across the marathon, 10K and junior events, with the flat and fast courses delivering memorable performances and three new course records on a landmark day for distance running in Wales.

Cardiff’s Dan Nash – the current British record holder for 50km – pipped 2021 champion and former track star Adam Bowden in the closing stages of the Newport Marathon.

Nash won the 2023 ABP Newport Wales Marathon in a brilliant 2:19:46 – a new course record.

Lliswerry Runner Lizzie Dimond took the title on home turf in the women’s marathon, finishing in a time of 2:49:36.

Melissah Gibson of Ealing Eagles, who was also the runner up in 2021, came in second in a time of 02:54:40.

Despite suffering a puncture at mile seven, Richie Powell ground it out to take the wheelchair title in 02:31:51, with time-out for a tyre change costing him the wheelchair marathon course record.

Omar Ahmed continued his winning momentum in the 10K race, fresh from his victory at the Brecon Carreg Cardiff Bay 10K just three weeks ago.

The Birchfield Harrier broke the 10K course record, winning in a time of 28:35 ahead of Shaun Antell (Bideford AC) in 30:11 and first Welshman Mike Ward (Cardiff Athletics) in 30:29.

The women’s 10K saw a battle between Wales’ two fastest marathoners, Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) and Natasha Cockram (Micky Morris Racing Team).

Cockram came out on top, taking the title and breaking the course record in a time of 33:27, ahead of Evans in 33:35.

Cockram has history in Newport and took the inaugural marathon title in 2018.

The excitement was not limited to the fiercely contested elite races, with thousands more runners and fundraisers taking part including a large team running for the race lead charity NSPCC.

Former Wales captain and three-times Grand Slam winner Ryan Jones took part in the 10K to raise funds for the child protection charity.

Men’s marathon results

1. Dan Nash (Cardiff Athletics) 02:19:46
2. Adam Bowden (Bridgend AC) 02:20:31
3. Simon Nott (Caine Running Club) 02:24:40
4. Marcus England (Western Tempo) 02:26:49
5. Nicholas Coyle (Stroud AC) 02:26:54

Women’s marathon results

1. Lizzie Dimond (Lliswerry Runners) 02:49:36
2. Melissah Gibson (Ealing Eagles) 02:54:40
3. Megan Williams (Aberdare Valley AAC) 03:00:32
4. Llinos Jones (Swansea Harriers) 03:01:02
5. Alice Smith (Weston Athletic Club) 03:07:30

Wheelchair marathon results

1. Richie Powell (Disability Sport Wales) 02:31:51
2. Ron Price 02:51:22
3. Les Hampton (Cheltenham and County Harriers) 03:47:27

Men’s 10K results

1. Omar Ahmed (Birchfield Harriers) 00:28:35
2. Shaun Antell (Bideford AC) 00:30:11
3. Mike Ward (Cardiff Athletics) 00:30:29
4. Ciaran Lewis (Les Croupiers) 00:30:38
4. Thomas Gostelow (Charnwood AC) 00:31:08

Women’s 10K results

1. Natasha Cockram (Micky Morris Racing Team) 00:33:27
2. Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) 00:33:35
3. Megan Davis (Newquay Road Runners) 00:34:01
4. Hannah Robinson (Birchfield Harriers) 00:35:37
5. Olivia Tsim (Pontypridd Roadents) 00:36:26

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.