Greg Draper sealed the win with his 18th goal of the season.

Draper Seals Wins As The New Saints Return Top For Now At Least – With Connah’s Quay Ready To Reply

Defending champions The New Saints returned to the top of the JD Welsh Premier League last night after a 3-0 triumph in front of a 1,000 crowd at Caernarfon Town.

Saints move a point clear at the summit ahead of Connah’s Quay with both teams having played 25 games – but that lead could be shortlived with the Nomads in action against Bala Town tonight.

The New Saints raced into a third-minute lead when Jamie Mullen slide the ball through to Kurtis Byrne, who squeezed his shot past oncoming goalkeeper Nick Bould and into the bottom corner via the post.

Jon Routledge’s crisp first-time finish from the edge of the area extended The New Saints’ lead shortly before the break.

Substitutes Billy Whitehouse and Greg Draper combined to seal the win the ten minutes remaining. Whitehouse dribbled his way to the byline before hanging up a cross for Draper to attack at the back post.

Draper, who has predominantly used as a substitute this season, now leads the league’s scoring charts with 18 goals from 6 (16) WPL appearances.

Connah’s Quay captain George Horan is in line to make his 400th WPL appearance in tonight’s visit of Bala Town to the Deeside Stadium.

The 37-year-old is available again after serving a one-match ban, having sat out Connah’s Quay’s draw on the weekend.

Bala, sixth, are looking for their first win in Phase 2 after being held by Newtown last time out.

Caernarfon Town 0
The New Saints FC 3 Kurtis Byrne 3′ Jon Routledge 37′ Greg Draper 81′

Caernarfon Town
22. Nick Bould, 3. Nathan Craig, 5. Gareth Edwards, 6. Rhys Roberts, 7. Gareth Evans, 8. Jamie Crowther (14. Noah Edwards 71′), 10. Darren Thomas, 16. Kevin Roberts, 17. Ryan Williams, 19. Sion Bradley (11. Danny Brookwell 64′), 25. Leo Smith (20. Cai Jones 78′) Subs not used: 1. Alex Ramsey (gk), 18. Dion Owen, 21. Cai Morgan

Red Cards: None
Yellow Cards: Evans 70′

The New Saints FC
1. Paul Harrison, 2. Simon Spender, 3. Chris Marriott, 5. Jack Bodenham, 12. Blaine Hudson, 6. Jon Routledge, 10. Daniel Redmond, 11. Adrian Cieslewicz (32. Billy Whitehouse 78′), 14. Jamie Mullan, 8. Ryan Brobbel (17. Dean Ebbe 82′), 21. Kurtis Byrne (9. Greg Draper 71′) Subs not used: 22. Kane Lewis, 23. Aeron Edwards

Red Cards: None
Yellow Cards: None

Attendance: 1006 Referee: Nick Pratt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *