Gerwyn Price won the World Cup of Darts in 2020 with Jonny Clayton.

Gerwyn Price Facing All-Wales Clash When He Starts World Championship Bid

By Gareth James

Gerwyn Price could face an all-Wales clash when he begins his bid for the William Hill World Darts Championship later this month.

The No 3 seed has been drawn against either countryman Jamie Lewis or Luke Woodhouse in the second round.

Price, the world No 3, gets a first-round bye for the championships which start at London’s Alexandra Palace on December 15.

Lewis, the 2018 semi-finalist, booked his place in the championships from this week’s final qualifying event in Coventry.

Jamie Lewis has chance to repeat his memorable run to World Darts Championships semi-finals in 2018 but will face Gerwyn Price test in second round. Pic: Paul Harding/Getty Images

The 29-year-old from Carmarthen took time off the PDC Tour earlier this year but now could face a tantalisingly early battle with the Markham darter.

Pontyberem’s Jonny Clayton also gets a first-round bye as 17th seed and will face either John Henderson or Marko Kantele when he first takes to the oche.

Newport’s Nick Kenny will mark his first year on the tour with an Alexandra Palace bow against Derk Telnekes for the right to face 24th seed Jermaine Wattimena in the second round.

Scotland’s Peter Wright will begin his defence of the Sid Waddell Trophy against either Steve West or Amit Gilitwala.

2020/21 William Hill World Darts Championship
Draw Bracket – Second Round Onwards
(1) Michael van Gerwen v Ryan Murray/Lourence Ilagan
(32) Ricky Evans v Mickey Mansell/Haupai Puha
(16) Joe Cullen v Wayne Jones/Ciaran Teehan
(17) Jonny Clayton v John Henderson/Marko Kantele
(8) Dave Chisnall v Keegan Brown/Ryan Meikle
(25) Danny Noppert v Martijn Kleermaker/Cameron Carolissen
(9) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Luke Humphries/Paul Lim
(24) Jermaine Wattimena v Derk Telnekes/Nick Kenny
(4) Michael Smith v Jason Lowe/Dmitriy Gorbunov
(29) Devon Petersen v Steve Lennon/Daniel Larsson
(13) Gary Anderson v Madars Razma/Toru Suzuki
(20) Mensur Suljovic v Maik Kuivenhoven/Matthew Edgar
(5) Rob Cross v Dirk van Duijvenbode/Bradley Brooks
(28) Jamie Hughes v Adam Hunt/Lisa Ashton
(12) Glen Durrant v Steve Beaton/Diogo Portela
(21) Adrian Lewis v Damon Heta/Danny Baggish
(2) Peter Wright v Steve West/Amit Gilitwala
(31) Gabriel Clemens v Andy Hamilton/Nico Kurz
(15) Krzysztof Ratajski v Ryan Joyce/Karel Sedlacek
(18) Simon Whitlock v Darius Labanauskas/Chengan Liu
(7) James Wade v Callan Rydz/James Bailey
(26) Stephen Bunting v Andy Boulton/Deta Hedman
(10) Ian White v Kim Huybrechts/Di Zhuang
(23) Jeffrey de Zwaan v Ryan Searle/Danny Lauby
(3) Gerwyn Price v Luke Woodhouse/Jamie Lewis
(30) Brendan Dolan v Mike De Decker/Edward Foulkes
(14) Jose de Sousa v Ross Smith/David Evans
(19) Mervyn King v Max Hopp/Gordon Mathers
(6) Nathan Aspinall v Scott Waites/Matt Campbell
(27) Vincent van der Voort v Ron Meulenkamp/Boris Krcmar
(11) Daryl Gurney v William O’Connor/Niels Zonneveld
(22) Chris Dobey v Jeff Smith/Keane Barry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *