Goalkeeper Andy Hargreaves AFC Llwydcoed Cup Hero

AFC Llwydcoed earned a dramatic penalty shootout success in their Nathaniel Car Sales League Cup tie against Cwmamman United.

They moved into the quarter-finals and were rewarded with a home match against holders Llanelli Town.

Llwydcoed won 5-4 in the shootout, scoring all of their spot-kicks.

United netted from their first four, but were then denied by goalkeeper Andy Hargreaves, diving low to his right to pull off a majestic save and start the celebrations.

Cwmamman’s Jordan Vickers was the unlucky player denied by Hargreaves in a fiercely contested match.

Llwydcoed finished with 10 players including Ioan Evans, who played on despite being injured. The score was 2-2 after extra time and then came the penalty decider.

They were forced into a late team change after Adam Butler was injured in the warm-up with Luke Davies taking his place.

The match was pulsating from start to finish and Llwydcoed were pushed back on the defensive with United’s Vickers, Ryan Thomas and Aaron Richards combining superbly.

Jonathan Mason and Ricky Carter broke out from their defensive duties, won a corner and Chris Stonelake scored with a top finish from a set move involving Tom Morris and Luke Davies.

United hit back and were only denied by heroic defending with Liam Jones, Gabriel Williams, Luke Davies and Scott Walters clearing shots off the line.

Llwydcoed led 1-0 at half-time, although United had the majority of possession.

Gabriel Williams scored the second goal for Llwydcoed, scoring following a free-kick by Tom Morris and good work by Ricky Carter.

Ryan Thomas pulled a goal back for Cwmamman and then substitute Ashley Curtis created problems and won a corner for United. That was taken by Vickers and he curled his kick into the net.

Llwydcoed had Luke Davies sent off for a second yellow card early in the extra 30 minutes. The home team were down to 10 men and had used all of their substitutes, Callum Henry, Liam Price and Morgan Andrews.

They showed great spirit and character, keeping the score at 2-2 and then winning in the penalty shootout to claim their place in the last eight.

Llanelli joined them in the quarter-finals thanks to a 3-0 win at Afan Lido.

Goals by Robert Thomas in the first half and a quick-fire double by Jordan Follows in the second saw them safely through.

Llanelli were without Antonio Facciuto, Anthony Finselbach, Jordan Davies, Luke Morgan, James Loveridge and Luke Jones, injured, unavailable or suspended, but they did welcome back Follows, Richard Lewis and Sam Wade after lengthy absences.

Afan Lido: A Jones, Owen, Hanbury, Davies (capt), Indjai, Doyle (Evans 86), Thomas, McCreesh, M Jones, Walters, Williams (Webber 71). Subs not used: Fleming, DeVulgt.

Llanelli Town: Coughlan, Graves (Samuel 69), March, R Thomas, C Thomas (Wade 76), Bevan, C Jones, R Jones, Clarke (capt), Trundle, Follows (Lewis 73). Sub not used; Morris (gk).

Referee: Teifion Cook (Clydach).

Aberbargoed Buds won 5-4 against West End thanks to goals from Scott Ermitage (2), Levi Rees (2) and Gavin Meacham.

Buds now travel to face Pontypridd Town in the last eight.

STM Sports won 3-2 at Chepstow Town thanks to goals from Christopher Worsley (2) and Dale Gardiner.

Pontypridd Town are enjoying a big season. They stand third in Welsh League Division Two with games in hand over top two Caldicot and Pontardawe, while they are through to the League Cup quarter-finals and the JD Welsh Cup quarter-finals.

Ponty entertain Aberbargoed Buds in the League Cup and Welsh Premier League Cardiff Met in the Welsh Cup.

Nathaniel Car Sales League Cup third round results: AFC Llwydcoed 2, Cwmamman United 2; Ammanford 0, Trefelin BGC 2; Briton Ferry Llansawel 3, Bridgend Street 2; Chepstow Town 2, STM Sports 3; Pontypridd Town 5, Risca United 2; Ton Pentre 3, Cwmbran Celtic 4; West End 4, Aberbargoed Buds 5; Afan Lido 0, Llanelli 3.

Draw for quarter-finals: Pontypridd Town v Aberbargoed Buds, AFC Llwydcoed v Llanelli Town, STM Sports v Trefelin BGC, Briton Ferry Llansawel v Cwmbran Celtic

Matches to be played on Friday, January 13 or Saturday, January 14.

JD Welsh Cup third round draw: Aberystwyth Town v Bala Town, Airbus UK Broughton v Goytre, Ammanford v Carmarthen Town, Bangor City v Cwmamman United, Buckley Town v Flint Town United, Caernarfon Town v Barry Town United, Connah’s Quay Nomads v Cwmbran Celtic, Llandudno Junction v Penydarren BGC, Llandudno v Gresford, Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant v Cefn Druids, Newtown v Guilsfield, Penybont v Cardiff Met University, Pontypridd Town v Haverfordwest County, Porthmadog v Panteg, Prestatyn Town v Ruthin Town, The New Saints v Penrhyncoch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *