Matt Willis, who also competes in triathlon, named in British team for World XC Champs.

Jenny Nesbitt And Matt Willis Named In GB Team For Worlds XC

Jenny Nesbitt and Matt Willis have been named in Great Britain’s team for the World Cross Country Championships in Aarhus, Denmark on March 30.

The Welsh duo got the automatic call-up for the 24-strong squad after winning their respective races at the trials in Loughborough last weekend.

Nesbitt will earn her first British vest over cross country since 2016 after her victory in the senior women’s race while Wrexham AC’s Willis claimed his maiden under 20’s inter-counties crown.

Jenny Nesbitt Is Denmark Bound After Blasting To World XC Trials Victory

Team leader Rob Denmark said: “I’m really excited that we are able to have selected a full team for the World Cross Country Championships that we feel can challenge some of the world’s best Cross Country runners on a tough course in Aarhus.

“We have opted to select full teams in the senior races as we feel it will enhance our bid for a top six team finish and given the nature of the course, will give Great Britain & Northern Ireland the best possible chance of doing so.

“Additionally, we feel that the course in Aarhus will provide another perfect development opportunity for our Under-20 athletes moving into the summer track season and a fundamental development area as they progress through the age groups.”

Senior Men

Patrick Dever (Andy Bibby; Preston)

Oliver Fox (Richard Llewellyn Eaton; Wells City)

Adam Hickey (Eamonn Martin; Southend)

Mahamed Mahamed (Peter Haynes; Southampton AC)

Ross Millington (Jon Brown; Stockport)

Luke Traynor (Robert Hawkins; Giffnock North)

Senior Women

Kate Avery (Shildon)

Emily Hosker-Thornhill (Mick Woods; Aldershot, Farnham & District)

Mhairi MacLennan (Helen Clitheroe; Edinburgh Uni Hare & Hounds)

Jenny Nesbitt (Chris Jones; Worcester)

Jessica Piasecki (Robert Hawkins; Stockport)

Amelia Quirk (Mick Woods; Bracknell AC)

Junior Men

Euan Brennan (Andrew Henderson; Ilkley)

Josh Cowperthwaite (Martin Peevor; Middlesbrough Mandale)

Rory Leonard (Morpeth)

Zakariya Mahamed (Peter Haynes; Southampton AC)

Benjamin West (Kyle Bennett; MK Distance Project)

Matt Willis (self; Wrexham)

Junior Women

Charlotte Alexander (Wayne Vinton; Herne Hill)

Becky Briggs (Derek Ricketts; City of Hull)

Grace Brock (Cornwall)

Olivia Mason (Graeme Mason; Border Harriers)

Amelia Samuels (John Abbiss; Wolverhampton & Bilston)

Eloise Walker (John Lees; Edinburgh AC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *