Peter Walker, Terry Yorath, Graham Price And Christian Malcolm All Find Fame

Peter Walker, Terry Yorath, Graham Price and Christian Malcolm have all been inducted into the Welsh Sports Hall of Fame.

The four were honoured at an awards night in Cardiff on Friday, where South Wales Evening Post writer Mark Orders was also named journalist of the year.

Walker was a member of Glamorgan’s 1969 County Championship winning side and played three Test matches for England. He becomes the ninth former Glamorgan player to become a Welsh hall of famer.

Former Wales football manager Yorath, capped 59 times, played for Leeds United, Tottenham and Coventry City before managing.

Price, a member of the famous Pontypool front row, won 41 Wales caps and a record 12 for the Lions as a prop.

Four-time Olympian sprinter Malcolm competed at four Commonwealth Games, winning 200m silver in Kuala Lumpur in 1998 and a bronze in the same event in Delhi in 2010.

Walker was a member of the Glamorgan team who won the county championship in 1969 and he won three Test caps in 1960.

His record of 17,000 first-class runs and 770 wickets was backed up by 740 catches with Walker recognised as one of the greatest close fielders. Walker was also a respected cricket writer and broadcaster when he retired in 1972.

Walker was also a renowned cricket administrator after playing an integral part in the newly-formed Cricket Board of Wales between 1996 and 1999 as the inaugural chief executive.

Walker was also behind the development of the National Cricket Centre for Wales at The Swalec Stadium for which he was officially awarded an MBE.

He also enjoyed a stint as the Professional Cricketers’ Association chairman and served as Glamorgan president from 2009 -2010.

Walker follows Johnny Clay, Jeff Jones, Tony Lewis, Don Shepherd, Maurice Turnbull, Alan Watkins, Wilf Wooller, Alan Jones and Simon Jones as the ninth former player to join the Hall of Fame.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *