Rupert Shipperley in action for Wales against Austria. Pic: Getty Images.

Rupert Shipperley Set For GB Home Debut As Four Welsh Players Named In Squad

By Paul Jones

Four Welsh players will help end 550 days of fully capped international exile after being named in the Great Britain hockey squads for home games against Germany that start today.

Rupert Shipperley and Jacob Draper have been named in the men’s squad to face the Germans in a Pro league fixture this afternoon at Lee Valley and then again tomorrow.

Wales pair Leah Wilkinson and Sarah Jones are also included in the women’s squad for the match this evening against Germany and again tomorrow night.

Wales captain Wilkinson returns to the squad, having missed out the last time Great Britain played in November 2020.

Embed from Getty Images

If Shipperley plays it will be his first international appearance for Great Britain on home soil.

GB men then have matches lined up against Spain later this month, while the women face the USA as both teams build towards the Olympics in Tokyo later this summer.

All the games are behind closed doors, with Great Britain Hockey having taken the decision not to cater for fans even though restrictions on spectators at events are being lifted form May 17.


Great Britain Men

1) George Pinner (GK) – England

5) David Ames – England

6) Henry Weir – England

7) Alan Forsyth – Scotland

8) Rupert Shipperley – Wales

9) Harry Martin – England

10) Chris Griffiths – England

11) Ian Sloan – England

13) Sam Ward – England

15) Phil Roper – England

16) Adam Dixon (C) – England

18) Brendan Creed – England

19) David Goodfield – England

20) Ollie Payne (GK) – England

21) Liam Ansell – England

23) Harry Gibson (GK) – England

25) Jack Waller – England

26) James Gall – England

27) Liam Sanford – England

29) Tom Sorsby – England

32) Zach Wallace – England

33) Jacob Draper – Wales


Great Britain Women

1) Maddie Hinch (GK) – England

4) Laura Unsworth – England

5) Sarah Evans – England

6) Anna Toman – England

8) Sarah Jones – Wales

9) Susannah Townsend – England

10) Sarah Robertson – Scotland

12) Charlotte Watson – Scotland

13) Ellie Rayer – England

17) Leah Wilkinson – Wales

18) Giselle Ansley – England

20) Hollie Pearne-Webb (C) – England

24) Shona McCallin – England

25) Sabbie Heesh (GK) – England

26) Lily Owsley – England

27) Jo Hunter – England

31) Grace Balsdon – England

32) Amy Costello – Scotland

33) Izzy Petter – England

38) Fiona Crackles – England


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.