Wayne Jones Confirmed As Welsh National Tarmacadam Champion

Wayne Jones becomes Welsh Tarmacadam Champion.

Wayne Jones Confirmed As Welsh National Tarmacadam Champion

By Simon Gronow

Following the final round of the J D Tyres Welsh National Tarmacadam Championship, the Glyn Memorial Stages Rally held over two days at the end of November at Trac Mon in Anglesey, Wayne Jones has been confirmed as the 2022 Champion.

Things didn’t start well for Jones and co-driver Jonathan Davies, who lost time after spinning their Darrian T90GTR on the opening special stage before and were then slowed on the next stage following an incorrect tyre choice.

Once exhaust issues had been rectified, things settled down and the pair finished fourth overall, securing the title for Jones.

Unfortunately, Davies hadn’t competed on all of the rounds with Jones and had to be content with the runners up spot in the co-driver’s section, missing out by just one point.

Also having an eventful rally were Dave Willett and John Davies whose Ford Escort was hampered by gearshift issues during the first day. After they were rectified for day two, they then had brake issues which didn’t help progress.

Nonetheless, they battled on before finishing in seventh place which enabled Willett to finish second in the Championship, whilst Davies went one better and won the co-drivers section outright.

After hitting some tyres on one of the later stages on day one, Chris Simmons/Andy Moss were slowed due to the resulting damage to their Darrian’s lights, but things were better on day two and the pair finished one place behind Willett.

It wasn’t a good event for multiple Welsh champion Bob Fowden, who retired his Subaru Impreza WRC S11 after a few stages with sheard wheel studs, though he still managed to win his class in the series.

There would be a late change of car for young Daniel Jones, who borrowed an Opel Manta as his usual Renault had gearbox issues which couldn’t be resolved in time for the event.

Driving a rear-wheel drive car in competition for the first time, coupled with lighting issues ensured an exciting opening day. However, 15th overall was sufficient to secure third overall in the Championship, winning his class and the under 25-year old driver awards as well after an excellent year.

2021 champions Neil Jones/Alan Thomas, who were not competing on the event, had to be content with second and first in Championship class respectively this year, with Thomas also finishing third overall in the co-driver’s section.

Despite breaking a driveshaft on his Ford Escort, Paul Jenkins battled on to the finish, overhauling the absent Mike Pugsley to win class 4 in the Welsh Championship, as Eurwyn Davies took the 1600cc Championship win in his Darrian, with Gareth Davies winning the co-driver’s section.

Will Mains put in some excellent performances during the year to win the 1400cc section, finishing fifth overall in the Series in his Vauxhall Corsa, whilst Karen Phelps won the Ladies award for the second year running.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.