Great Britain Hungary For World Championship Success

Head coach Pete Russell has named his 23-man squad to represent Great Britain at next week’s World Championship in Budapest.

GB will face hosts Hungary, as well as Italy, Kazakhstan, Poland and Slovenia, from Sunday, April 22 to Saturday, April 28.

The six-team Division One Group A tournament will take place at the Papp Laszlo Sportarena, as GB return to world ice hockey’s second tier for the first time since 2013 following their promotion in Belfast last year.

Great Britain coach Peter Russell.

There are first GB World Championship call-ups for netminder Jackson Whistle, defencemen Dallas Erhardt and Zach Sullivan, along with forwards Ollie Betteridge, Luke Ferrara, Liam Kirk, Mike Hammond and Brett Perlini.

Lewis Hook, Ciaran Long, Jez Lundin, Evan Mosey (injury) and Ross Venus are released from the squad.

Russell said: “Picking a final 23 is never easy.

“There will be some disappointed players who have not made the cut, but the competition for places really was intense.

Great Britain coach Peter Russell is drenched by his players after they clinched promotion during the World Championships in Belfast a year ago.

“Losing Evan Mosey to injury is a blow, but we have a quality roster going to Hungary next week.

“The squad has great balance and we have a nice mix of youth and experience across the roster

“It will be a massive test for us, but this squad is excited about representing their country and taking on some of the best nations in the world.

“We all know the challenges we will face, but it is one we are looking forward to undertaking.”

GB’s 23-man squad will now report back to training camp on Tuesday ahead of flying to Budapest on Thursday.

Great Britain:

Netminders: Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils), Jackson Whistle (Belfast Giants), Thomas Murdy (Cardiff Devils, reserve).

Defence: Dallas Ehrhardt (Manchester Storm), Steve Lee (Nottingham Panthers), Ben O’Connor (Sheffield Steelers), David Phillips (Sheffield Steelers), Mark Richardson (Cardiff Devils), Zach Sullivan (Braehead Clan), Paul Swindlehurst (Manchester Storm).

Forwards: Ollie Betteridge (Nottingham Panthers), Brendan Brooks (Braehead Clan), Ben Davies (Guildford Flames), Robert Dowd (Sheffield Steelers), Robert Farmer (Nottingham Panthers), Luke Ferrara (Coventry Blaze), Mike Hammond (Manchester Storm), Liam Kirk (Sheffield Steelers), Robert Lachowicz (Nottingham Panthers), Matthew Myers (Cardiff Devils), Jonathan Phillips (Sheffield Steelers), Brett Perlini (Nottingham Panthers), Colin Shields (Belfast Giants).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *