Llantrisant Open champion Patrick Rooney pictured with runner-up Tom Ford.

Patrick Powers In To Win Llantrisant Open Squash Title

Former European Junior champion Patrick Rooney is the new Llantrisant Open squash champion.

Rooney, aged 22 and from St Helen’s, defeated top seed Nathan Lake in his semi-final and then lifted the trophy thanks to a 3-2 victory against Tom Ford in the PSA Satellite tournament.

Worcester-born Ford battled through two fiercely contested matches on Sunday, beating Welshman Peter Creed in his semi-final before being edged out by Rooney.

Rhiwbina Squash Club’s Creed was beaten 2-11, 11-5, 11-9, 5-11, 11-7 and a few hours later Ford went down against Rooney, who lifted the trophy thanks to a 6-11, 11-5, 9-11, 11-7, 11-4 victory.

Llanelli’s Sam Weeds won the men’s B tournament, beating Matthew Thomas in the final, while Justin Nemeth was men’s C winner.

Nemeth, from Swansea, won the main Ross Scaccia Open trophy at St Mellons Country Club during April and was again a winner at Llantrisant Squash Club.

Ollie Cann (D winner), Gareth Heyes (runner-up), Ashley Maybury(D plate winner) and Sam Norris (D plate runner-up).

He defeated Neil Hughes 13-11, 8-11, 11-7, 11-8 in the C final.

Gareth Heyes came through a tough semi-final in the mixed D event, recovering from two games down to win 7-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-8.

In the final Heyes was beaten in straight games by Rhiwbina Squash Club’s Oliver Cann.

The Llantrisant Open plate winners were Liam Eason (A), Dan Webb (B), Tom Penberthy (C) and Ashley Maybury (D).

Llantrisant Open PSA Satellite: 

Men’s A semi-finals: Patrick Rooney beat Nathan Lake 11-7, 11-5, 11-6; Tom Ford beat Peter Creed 2-11, 11-5, 11-9, 5-11, 11-7.

Final: Patrick Rooney beat Tom Ford 6-11, 11-5, 9-11, 11-7, 11-4.

Men’s A plate final: Liam Eason beat Lewis Poole 10-12, 11-7, 11-8, 11-8.

Llantrisant Open men’s A semi-final: World number 61 Nathan Lake against Patrick Rooney, ranked at 78.

Men’s B semi-finals: Sam Weeds beat James Powell 11-6, 11-8, 11-7; Matthew Thomas beat Mark Toseland 11-6, 7-11, 13-11, 11-3.

Final: Sam Weeds beat Matthew Thomas 11-5, 11-6, 15-17, 12-10.

Men’s B plate final: Dan Webb beat Gary Fry 11-7, 9-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-7.

Men’s C semi-finals: Neil Hughes beat Fern Church 9-11, 11-8, 11-8, 6-11, 11-9; Justin Nemeth beat Jon Rifflart 7-11, 10-12, 12-10, 11-4, 11-4.

Final: Justin Nemeth beat Neil Hughes 13-11, 8-11, 11-7, 11-8.

Men ’s C plate final: Tom Penberthy beat Craig Bluck 11-7, 11-6, 8-11, 11-4.

Mixed D semi-finals: Oliver Cann beat Shivam Singhai 11-3, 11-3, 11-2; Gareth Heyes to James Jones 7-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-8.

Final: Oliver Cann beat Gareth Heyes 11-2, 11-7, 11-9.

Mixed D plate final: Ashley Maybury beat Sam Norris 11-4, 7-11, 11-6, 11-6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *