Welsh Players Macey, Rhian Hit Netball Europe Treble

The Wales netball long squad at under-17 level. The final 12 for Netball Europe have been selected.

Welsh Players Macey, Rhian Hit Netball Europe Treble

Welsh Netball have named their squad for the Netball Europe Under-17 Championships in Dublin.

The final 12 includes four players from the squad who played last season and they are Macey Lane, Rhian Evans, Sapphira Fisher and Beca Hughes.

Macey and Rhian will be representing Wales at Netball Europe for the third year in succession.

The three-day tournament at Gormaston Park starts on Friday, March 2.

Five Welsh regions will be represented, while Macey gaining invaluable experience at Wasps and Nan Williams lives on the Isle of Man.

“We gave a great mix of players, each bringing their own strengths and experiences to the team,” says head coach Bev Powell.

“Netball Europe is a fantastic opportunity to showcase our young talent. Every match is highly contested and margins are tight between the home nations.

“Preparation is key and the squad have been working hard since their selection in September. I am confident that we will be ready for the challenge and I am looking forward to see the players wear the red dress with pride, passion and purpose.”

Republic of Ireland, England, Gibraltar, Isle of Man, Malta, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Switzerland and United Arab Emirates are the teams competing with Wales in a competition which includes Championship and Challenge sections.

UAE are newly elected full members of Netball Europe.

“This is a momentous occasion,” said UAENA chair Dr Omar Shams. “This is the first ever netball team selected to represent the UAE and that in itself is a privilege for us all.

United Arab Emirates netball logo.

“My sincere congratulations to Georgia Allen, Zoe Stapley, Millie McMurray, Elanor Wright, Kat Webb, Michaela Dunlop and Alienor Prevot for making history at such a young age. Go get ’em girls!”

Wales, final 12: Rhian Evans; Mollie Underhill; Macey Lane; Beca Hughes; Nan Williams; Macy Morgan; Catrin Hughes; Hannah Owen; Charlotte Scarborough; Sapphira Fisher; Millie Carter, Angharad Broughton.

Management team: Bev Powell, head coach; Rhian Davies, assistant coach; Sharon Walters, team manager; Jay Kitgrave, physio; Keira Davies, analyst.

Non-travelling reserves: Lauren Evans; Lauren Francis; Nia Evans.

England completed a clean sweep of victories during the 2017 Netball Europe Championship and are determined to retain their crown. They play Wales on Saturday, March 3 (4.30pm).

England under-17 squad for Netball Europe: Ella Bowen (Team Northumbria), Olufunmilayo Fadoju (London Pulse), Beth Gabriel (Severn Stars), Shelby Harris (Surrey Storm), Alice Harvey (Yorkshire), Suzie Liversidge (Mavericks), Berri Neil (Manchester Thunder), Jasmin Odeogberin (London Pulse), Sienna Rushton (Wasps), Millie Sanders (Manchester Thunder), Alicia Scholes (Manchester Thunder), Ella Standring (Manchester Thunder)

Reserves for the squad are: Ore Adamson (Surrey Storm), Alice Currie (Team Northumbria), Annie James (Yorkshire)

The squad will be led by head coach Victoria Burgess and assistant Jan Crabtree.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.