Airbus Crash Into Relegation Along With Carmarthen As FAW Stick To 12-Club Cymru Premier

Conygar Bridge Meadow Stadium, Haverfordwest County FC's home ground.

Airbus Crash Into Relegation Along With Carmarthen As FAW Stick To 12-Club Cymru Premier

By Matthew Burgess

Airbus UK Broughton and Carmarthen Town have both been relegated from the Cymru Premier following a meeting today of the FAW Board of Directors.

The surprise decision means the successful promotion of Flint Town United and Haverfordwest County from the Cymru North and South respectively and the maintaining of a 12-club top tier.

Prior to today’s meeting, clubs had submitted their preference for holding onto the two relegated clubs in addition to promoting two clubs – to create a temporary 14-club Cymru Premier for two years.

The final outcome has stunned officials at both Carmarthen Town and Airbus UK, who had hoped to have been spared demotion after final league places were determined using the points-per-game method.

It remains to be seen if the two relegated clubs intend to take further action on the decision.


The FAW ended the top tier season last month after it was suspended in March due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Connah’s Quay were declared champions for the first time on an unweighted points-per-game average.

Tier 2 relegations saw Llanfair United, Corwen and Porthmadog all demoted to Tier 3 from the Cymru North. They will be replaced by Llanidloes Town, Holywell Town and Holyhead Hotspur.

In the Cymru South, SM Sports, who failed to obtain a Tier 2 certificate, saw their relegation confirmed along with Cwmamman United and Caerau Ely. Trefelin BGC, Risca United and Port Talbot Town are officially promoted into the Cymru South next season.

Further announcements on the reorganisation of the new Tier 3 will take place on July 10th.


JD Cymru Premier (Tier 1)

Promoted: Flint Town United; Haverfordwest County

Relegated: Airbus UK Broughton (to JD Cymru North); Carmarthen Town (to JD Cymru South)

JD Cymru North (Tier 2)

Promoted: Llanidloes Town; Holywell Town & Holyhead Hotspur

Relegated: Llanfair United, Corwen & Porthmadog (all to Tier 3 North)

JD Cymru South (Tier 2)

Promoted: Trefelin BGC; Risca United & Port Talbot Town

Relegated: STM Sports (failed to obtain FAW Tier 2 Certification); Cwmamman United & Caerau Ely

(all to Tier 3 South)

The National Leagues Board will consider the reorganisation of Tier 3 clubs on July 10th following the

Tier 3 Ground Criteria certification process.

Orchard Welsh Premier Women’s League

Promoted: Cascade YC Ladies

Relegated: None

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.