Bluebirds On High After Penalty Shootout Victory Against Ronaldo’s Spanish Club In Edmonton

Cardiff City 1, Real Valladolid 1

Cardiff won 4-2 on penalties

Omar Bogle scored for the Bluebirds in the final match of their tour to North America.

Cardiff City fought out a 1-1 draw against the Spanish La Liga club, owned by Brazilian ace Ronaldo, before winning the penalty shoot-out at Edmonton’s Commonwealth Stadium.

Bogle fired City ahead after 40 minutes, scoring from a Gregg Cunningham cross, while Italian defender Federico Barba equalised with a scruffy finish just after the hour.

Cunningham, Joe Bennett, Will Vaulks and Josh Murphy scored penalties for Cardiff, while Bogle’s spot-kick was saved.

Goalkeeper Joe Day saved two Valladolid penalties to earn victory for the Bluebirds victory in the final match of their pre-season tour of North America.

Manager Neil Warnock made seven changes to the team who drew 1-1 against New Mexico United in Albuquerque.

Junior Hoilett returned to captain Cardiff in his home country, while Joe Day, Cameron Coxe, Curtis Nelson, Greg Cunningham, Loïc Damour and Omar Bogle all earned starts.

Manager Neil Warnock used 16 players over the 90 minutes, making decisions on who should play because of the artificial playing surface.

The Bluebirds broke the deadlock five minutes before half-time. Cunningham swung in an accurate cross from the left and Bogle overpowered his marker to divert the ball home – his second goal in two pre-season games.

After the break, a speculative effort from Sandro was well held by goalkeeper Day, before the changes began to come around the hour mark.

It was then that Valladolid drew level when Barba took advantage of a loose ball in the area to scavenge the equaliser.

Full-back Joe Bennett went close to scoring the winner with a shot which flew just wide before Cardiff earned victory in the penalty shoot-out.

Cardiff City: Joe Day, Cameron Coxe, Curtis Nelson, Ciaron Brown, Gregg Cunningham, Loic Damour (Will Vaulks 66), Joe Ralls (Aaron Bolger 80), Bobby DeCordova-Reid (James Waite 60), Nathaniel Mendez-Laing, (Josh Murphy 60), Junior Hoilett (Joe Bennett 60), Omar Bogle. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *