Wales women hockey

Wales Women's squad during last year's Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. Pic: Hockey Wales,

Six Uncapped Players In Wales Squad For Tri Nations

By Hannah Blackwell

Beth Bingham will lead a Wales Women’s hockey squad for the 2023 season that welcomes six uncapped players, including Betsan Thomas and Maisie Riley.

Leah Wilkinson and Sian French, who have retired from the sport, will not be part of the squad.

Bingham will serve as the sole captain, leading the team into a series of friendly matches against Scotland over the Easter weekend.

After that, the team will participate in a tri-nations series in South America, followed by the European Championships in Prague in July.

Wales will compete in the European second division following their trip to Uruguay in June to play against the host country and Chile.

Head coach Kevin Johnson said: “This is a group in transition and building towards the longer term and in particular the next Commonwealth Games in 2026.

“As a result, there is a fresh look to this squad selection and a promising balance of experience and youth, but most importantly, potential to improve.

“There are 10 players in the panel of 26 who are aged 23 and under, which is a credit to all those who have been involved and invested in the development of our junior and sub-senior teams.”

The squad has been named just days after Cardiff & Met created history at the weekend by becoming the first Welsh men’s side to reach the Premier Division.

Wales Women’s hockey squad: Beth Bingham (Wimbledon HC – captain), Hannah Cozens (Reading HC), Amy Cradden (Loughborough Students WHC), Sophia Crawshay (Bowdon HC), Lucie Daman (Reading HC), Rebecca Daniel (Durham University), Emily Drysdale (Clifton Robinsons), Maddie Goodman (Loughborough Students WHC), Millie Holme (Isca & University of Exeter HC), Livvy Hoskins (Clifton Robinsons), Izzie Howell (Zehlendorf Wespen HC), Xenna Hughes (Bowdon HC), Caro Hulme (Bowdon HC), Ella Jackson (Swansea HC), Sarah Jones (Wimbledon HC), Eloise Laity (Clifton Robinsons), Jess Lea (Clifton Robinsons), Megan Lewis-Williams (Buckingham HC), Holly Munro (Clifton Robinsons), Phoebe Richards (Clifton Robinsons), Maisie Riley (Loughborough WHC), Lauren Roberts (Eastbourne HC), Emily Rowlands (Hampstead &Westminster), Betsan Thomas (University of Birmingham), Rose Thomas (Guildford HC), and Izzy Webb (Clifton Robinsons).

Read more about Beth Bingham

New Wales Skipper Beth Bingham Backed To Build On Leah Wilkinson Legacy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *